GAPS Diet, Days 55-57

I got carried away by my new food options and planned a somewhat elaborate meal for Saturday breakfast/brunch: turkey ‘sausage’ patties, kohlrabi hashbrowns, coconut pancakes, and to top it off, coffee (with coconut milk!). Everything turned out fine, and was enjoyable, but without using eggs the hashbrowns would not stay in patties, so we cooked them loose, and coconut pancakes did not hold together, and were more like a sweet hashbrown in appearance and combobulation.

Oh, and I did get my juice in while we were cooking breakfast: carrot mango juice.

My yogurt from the new starter looked like an alien brain, so I didn’t eat it. We found out that the milk had gone bad since the day before, so perhaps that accounts for it. (Also my tiny tastes of yogurt starter and milk could account for my stomach the weirdness the day before in that case.)

Midafternoon I ‘snacked’ on leftover stuffed pepper (with olive oil and chicken stock and beet kvass, I think).

For supper we cooked up ground beef with mushrooms and a bit of onion and garlic. Colton ate his with noodles, and I ate mine with, of course, sauerkraut and olive oil. We’d used up the last of ghee on breakfast, so I introduced butter to cook the meat in. (I’d been planning to introduce it the next morning anyway, and that evening was about 48 hours after introducing coconut.)

For a bedtime snack we polished off the last of the raisin cake. (I need to make more… That stuff is good, and really nice to have around for a snack.)

Sunday morning I had carrot juice and took some ColdCalm because I woke up feeling, well, like I was coming down with a cold. (I looked at the ingredients the next day and realized it had lactose in it. Oops.) I also had some coffee with coconut milk and honey.

Sunday breakfast was leftover turkey sausage patty and kohlrabi hashbrowns, with sauerkraut.

Lunch was cauliflower soup (along the lines of mashed potato soup, with chicken stock, coconut milk, onion and garlic). And this week there were *two* other things at the fellowship I could eat. Squash, with my newly introduced butter, and chicken legs with just tomato sauce and honey (they did also have garlic powder and onion powder, but the dehydrated spices seemed like a small risk at this point.)

In the afternoon I had a sip of lemon liqueur, which I *think* was GAPS legal, though technically alcohol should probably have been introduced on it’s own day like any other new food.

Supper was more cauliflower soup. (Thankfully the soup turned out well this week, and I actually enjoyed eating it twice.)

I had a bedtime snack of raw apple.

This morning I woke up with a definite cold, not bad, but annoying, and making me distinctly unenergetic. My stomach felt just a bit heavy yesterday evening through this morning, but I figure if I can eat everything I ate yesterday without any actual pains or upset stomach, that’s probably a good sign.

I had carrot juice this morning, after a morning nap, and decided to scrap my plans for being energetic and productive today. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll be feeling better…

Lunch was leftover cauliflower soup (with olive oil and beet kvass for me).

This afternoon I tried a new recipe (using raisins in place of dates): http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2009/11/04/raw-vegan-macaroons/ I didn’t feel like washing my blender when it probably wouldn’t process raisins well anyway, so I just chopped the raisins as finely as I could, and eyeballed measurements to mix it with coconut shreds and homemade coconut butter. They’d probably be better with blended dates instead of chopped raisins, but I liked them, and they made a good snack.

For supper I made salmon chowder. Sadly, I had to leave out the bacon to make it GAPS legal, but it was still amazingly good. I introduced parmesan cheese sprinkled over the soup, and the whole thing was even better with some yogurt swirled in. I like good food!

 

 

Leave a Reply

