GAPS Intro Diet, Day 31

After being on my feet so much yesterday I really just wanted to crash this morning. Instead, I went back to the doctor’s office where they removed six tubes of blood, which didn’t really improve my energy levels.

I juiced my seven carrots (I counted it as eight because one of them was big) (also doesn’t juicing seven carrots sound like some sort of code term for the apocalypse?), warmed up some leftover soup (eaten with olive oil and ginger carrots), worked on my shopping list, and pretended I was going to have more energy later. Somehow I never really got moving today.

Lunch was leftover pizza (with olive oil and beef broth–I skipped probiotic food, but took my probiotic capsule).

This afternoon I ate more stewed apples. This time I warmed them up and added just a touch of honey and quite enjoyed them.

For supper I was experimenting with uses for leftover carrot pulp. After five days of juicing I had three plastic cups more or less full of carrot pulp, and while I’ve come across some interesting ideas (carrot bread, carrot crackers, pureed carrot dip, more ginger carrots) I really needed to do something aggressive before the carrot pulp took over my refrigerator. So, I mixed 3 cups of carrot pulp, a tablespoon of ghee, a tablespoon of sunflower seed flour, 1/2 a tsp of salt, a couple tablespoons of of cooked squash and a grated onion. I took small handfuls of the mixture, smooshed it into patties, and baked them at 350 for the usual amount of time (i.e. ‘until it was done’).

Well, I thought it was done. Since it wasn’t really soft, I drizzled more ghee over it, and then baked it until I forgot about it. 😛 When I finally pulled them out they were dark brown around the edges and I thought they were more or less a lost cause until I tasted them… Oddly, the crusty bits made it almost like a fish patty or something equally bland-but-soft-and-crunchy. I think they could be really good with a little more liquid and then fried, so I’ll have to experiment with the carrot patties some more.

While I was waiting for the carrot patties to cook, I ate leftover soup with olive oil and ginger carrots for my actual supper…

I’m still on 2 1/2 capsules of probiotic per day, split between two meals. Tomorrow I’m adding celery to my carrot juice (partly because I only have three carrots left, so I want to supplement the juice a bit).

Leave a Reply

