GAPS Intro Diet, Days 32-35

It’s been a weekend. I’ll compress some of the details of food so I can fit all four days into one post, but I wanted at least a cursory record for my GAPS history.

Thursday was grocery shopping. I went in the morning, so I was out during my normal breakfast time, but I did okay by taking an avocado with me and eating half of that around ten. It’s really nice to be at  a stage of GAPS where I have a little of portable food available!

I only had about four carrots left before grocery shopping, so the celery was a prominent flavor in the juice. I prefer carrot flavor.

I had some brief stomach pains after lunch, which I attribute to eating a few bites of slightly burnt leftover carrot patty, before remembering that burnt food is a GAPS no-no.

For supper I made a slightly odd mixture of pork strips cooked with onions, mushrooms, garlic and tomato sauce. Colton ate his in a tortilla and dubbed it pizza fajitas.

I increased my probiotic to 2 3/4 capsules.

Friday was when the weekend started to diverge from the plan–Colton came down with a mild stomach flu. No vomiting, just fluish feelings and food didn’t sit quite right.

I increased my probiotic to 3 capsules, partly to help protect my stomach from viruses and bacteria, and because I hadn’t had a reaction to the increase the day before.

Food was a bit weird that day, especially with trying to find food that Colton could eat without hurting his stomach, which didn’t necessarily line up with food I could eat on GAPS. I don’t really remember what I ate most of the day, but we cooked up some ground beef for supper.

Saturday food continued to be weird. I roasted chicken legs and made another batch of whipped cauliflower (which is still amazing) which we ate in the middle of the afternoon sometime. (Lupper?)

Sunday was similar. We stayed home from church so as not to spread around whatever weird germs were causing the stomach problems. We ate leftovers and cooked up more ground beef. I made rice pudding for Colton. For most of the day I had myself convinced that I’d skipped catching the stomach flu-ish-ness due to all the probiotics in my system. Toward the end of the day my stomach started feeling a bit off too.

With all the life weirdness I only did okay at including chicken stock, olive oil and probiotic food in every meal. A couple of days (Friday and Saturday?) I did really well at remembering chicken stock, but by Sunday evening I just didn’t feel like putting in the effort.

I did keep up with my juicing every morning, and added in lettuce and mint to my juice routine on Saturday. With a larger ratio of carrots in the juice the celery and lettuce just add a generically green flavor to the juice, which isn’t bad at all, and after getting used to the mint I think I quite like it in the juice.

Theoretically, I should be able to add in raw lettuce as salad today, and finish GAPS intro by the end of the week, but I’m going to wait on adding new food until I’m sure I’m not getting stomach bug symptoms that would confuse the signals on the new food. That may just mean waiting until this evening to add lettuce, or it may mean waiting several days. We’ll have to see how it goes…

Leave a Reply

