GAPS Intro Diet, Day 38

Typical morning routine this morning—well, considering my GAPS diet routine anyway. 🙂 I’ve still been extra tired in the mornings, but despite getting up a bit late I did my juicing and managed to do T Tapp this morning. I had to pause the DVD and sit down and rest halfway through (yes, it’s 15 minutes…) but I did the whole thing, and it even felt good to be exercising again.

Between ten and eleven I ate some yogurt mixed with applesauce and a drumstick and had a little bit of chicken stock with my food. Lunch was half a leftover hamburger patty with sauteed onions, and my newest discovery, salted yogurt spooned over it. Salted yogurt is like the lazy version of yogurt cheese. 🙂 I got in my olive oil drizzled over a small (very small) salad, and had a full cup of chicken stock.

This afternoon I was feeling great and finished some tidying up I didn’t get to yesterday, washed more dishes, experimented some more with making kohlrabi chips and folded this week’s laundry. Add in making supper and I think I might have pushed too hard for just getting energy again, but it is good to be able to get the house clean again.

This afternoon I also ordered Tummy Tuneup as a supplement to my BioKult probiotic. Tummy Tuneup has fewer kinds of probiotic strains, but seems reasonably GAPS legal, and is much cheaper per billion bacteria than BioKult. My theory is that if I alternated between BioKult and Tummy Tuneup I still get the benefit of the wider range of probiotics, but get to stretch out the expensive ones so they last longer, without sacrificing overall oomph, or number of probiotic bacteria.

And I finally ordered a supplement to fill the recommended nut/seed oil blend and fish oil (in addition to cod liver oil) supplement. I had originally missed these two on the recommended list, partly because I thought surely fish oil isn’t needed in addition to cod liver oil (apparently it has a different ratio of nutrients, and therefore the combination is best for GAPS healing) and partly because it’s generally recommended not to start supplements at the beginning of intro anyway. It seems very hard to find a supplemental oil that fits the required ratios of different nutrients, but I found a Barlean’s Total Omega blend that fits the requirements for *both* oils better than most products on the market (Omega 3 to Omega 6 ratios, and EPA to DHA ratios). It does contain soy (though I’m not sure in what ingredient…) so hopefully that’s not a problem… I was assured over e-mail that the ‘natural lemonade flavoring’ is basically just a lemon essential oil, so I’m going to give a try and see how it works out.

For supper we had fish (I found perch fillets on manger’s special at Kroger a couple weeks ago) baked in ghee with salt and pepper, with my second attempt to make a version of these carrot patties actually work. I’m intrigued by this way to use up carrot pulp from juicing, and they improved over my last attempt. For my version I used 3 cups carrot pulp, 1/2 grated onion, a heaping cup of cooked squash and 2 tsp of salt, shaped into patties and fried in ghee. They absorb a lot of ghee, so I had to keep adding ghee as they cooked… They still fall apart fairly easily (a symptom of not using eggs), but they taste pretty good, and I feel like they’re on the brink of being amazing, if I could just figure out what they need.

Salted yogurt is also good over fish and carrot patties, fyi.

I was still at my normal level of ‘just okay’ at getting in my chicken stock and olive oil today,but I got my probiotic food with every meal, all three probiotic capsules, and my cod liver oil. Tomorrow I’ll be ready to add in a new food. I haven’t decided yet whether that means adding fruit to my juice, or adding peeled cucumber to my salad. Decisions, decisions…

Leave a Reply

