GAPS Intro Diet, Day 51

Yesterday started with carrot spinach mango juice, then a breakfast of leftover zucchini casserole with olive oil and ginger carrots.

Lunch was leftover salmon casserole with olive oil and sauerkraut.

I had a fairly productive afternoon, getting the house tidied up, bathroom cleaned, ghee made, some dishes washed, and squeezing in a little time and energy to experiment with GAPS baking.

I didn’t want to introduce more than one new ingredient in baking sweeter things, and I’m still egg free, so I pretty much had to come up with my own recipe. So I made two to compare.  (Recipes at the end of the post.)

For supper I made zucchini pizzas, using slices of a giant zucchini for the ‘crust’ and topping it with tomato sauce, ground beef (well seasoned), minced onion and thinly sliced mushrooms. (For non-GAPS people I added a sprinkle of cheese on some of them.) I also cooked up green beans in ghee.

It worked out to be a very good night to get to add in dessert type food, because we had James and Theresa over dinner, coffee and games. We forgot to eat our dessert with the coffee though… (We also only played one game, but we had a good time anyway, talking about vitamin D tests and hormone levels and… okay, maybe only Theresa and I had a good time with those particular topics.)

There was no clear consensus on which dessert was better. The ‘scookies’ (cross between a scone and cookie) were a bit on the dry side, kind of like a nutty energy bar, but a good one. The raisin cake turned out to be the consistency of bread pudding, and had a good flavor, though we agreed it would be improved by a brandy sauce. (Most things would be…)

I had most of a mug of decaf coffee last night also, with a bit of honey in it.

My stomach, if anything, did *better* after the new food than it has been recently. I felt some very slight pain in my stomach as I was going to bed, as though it were about to work up to an actual stab of pain, but it never did.

I’m already plotting what foods I want to add first if this last step of Intro goes well. I think I’ve decided on coconut, which would open up a whole new range of possibilities in coconut milk, baking with coconut flour, and coconut butter.

Scookies 

1 cup sunflower seed flour

1/4 cup applesauce

1/2 cup raisins, chopped

1 TBSP honey

1 TBSP ghee

dash of salt

Mix, form into small (teaspoonish) cookies and bake at 300 for 20 to 40 minutes.

Raisin Cake/Pudding

2 cups sunflower seed flour

3/4 cup applesauce

1 cup raisins, chopped

1/4 cup ghee

dash of salt

Mix, pour into a small cake pan (I used a 3 cup pyrex dish) and bake at 300 for a very long time (over an hour at least).

 

One thought on “GAPS Intro Diet, Day 51

  1. […] down cake, which turned out quite well! I used the pineapple topping recipe from this page, and the cake recipe I came up earlier. (Sans raisins, using grated zucchini in place of applesauce, and adding a 1/4 cup of honey, 1 […]

Leave a Reply

