GAPS Diet, Day 68, 69 & 70

Friday morning I had my juice… I think that was the morning I made carrot plum juice, which was good, but I think the plum would go even better blended with another fruit as well. More of an undertone than a strong flavor.

I ate my breakfast a little early so I could head out to pick up the co op order at ten. I had beet soup with olive oil and sauerkarut, which was fine until I jumped in car to drive. My stomach hasn’t been to crazy about riding in the car right after eating lately. Oddly, eating *in* the car isn’t nearly as bad as eating right before getting in car. Anyway, I felt pretty bad driving to the co op drop point, but by the time everything was sorted out and my food was loaded into the car, I was doing okay, and I didn’t have any relapses.

Lunch was leftover chicken, of which I do not remember details. Colton didn’t get to come home for lunch on Friday, so my lunch was a bit more haphazard than normal, but I did remember to eat.

Friday afternoon I had some food proccessing to do, and was starting to feel a bit tired from the week, so I didn’t quite keep up my ‘dishes done every day this week’ record, but I did get most of the dishes washed before supper.

For supper I made zucchini pizzas, made from zucchini (obviously), tomato sauce, ground beef, onion and mushroom (and various seasonings). And this time I got to put cheddar cheese on mine! (Colton’s had a mozzerella pizza mix of cheese I got on sale a couple weeks ago…) I ate olive oil on them, but skipped the sauerkraut. (I really am trying to be good about my probiotic foods, but my options are limited right now, and sauerkraut three times a day is just a bit much sometimes! I do get some probiotic with every meal, since I divide my probiotic capsules into three doses through the day, so hopefully it’s not too big a deal to skip the sauerkraut occasionally.)

I introduced cocoa powder that evening. I had to make more coconut milk, as I’d discovered the last of the previous batch had gone sour. So, I took a cup and a half of the fresh, still warm, coconut milk, and whirled it in the blender with a tablespoon of cocoa powder and about a tablespoon of honey. It was amazingness! And the coconut milk frothed very nicely in the blender too. Chocolate is really quite good.

Saturday morning was carrot mango juice (I think…) and hitting to road to pick up milk and help some friends move. I ate my breakfast on the road, having almonds and a peach. (No sauerkraut or olive oil.) I had more almonds as a late morning snack, too.

A lot of the help we did was actually cleaning, so I didn’t have to do too much lifting and hauling. I packed my own lunch of salad topped with leftover chicken, tomato, cheese and the last of the avocado dressing, it was quite good and very filling, though I think my body eventually started craving more protein before I actually got hungry again. (I would not do well as a vegetarian.) Also, I did *not* want any more almonds, I had had quite enough almonds that day thank you very much. (Did I mention that I would really not do well as a vegetarian?)

For supper I had leftover zucchini pizza, which was was still really good. I tried to be good and drink chicken stock with my meal, but I only drank about a third of the mug. After supper I had more coconut milk hot cocoa, which was still amazing.

Sunday morning was (I think) carrot peach juice. Carrot mango is still my favorite, but the carrot peach was definitely up there on the list.

For breakfast I warmed up the last of the beet soup from the week before and ate it in the car with sauerkraut and olive oil.

I also had most of a mug of coffee, with coconut milk and honey.

Lunch was hamburger stew, which turned out quite well. Oddly, I think adding carrot pulp from juicing added to the visual appeal, because it bulked out the soup and made it look nice and thick.

For supper, I had brownies. Okay, I had leftover chicken too, but the brownies were more exciting. 🙂 I am starting to come to terms with the fact that baking gluten free and egg free means your baking has nothing to hold it together. Despite the odd texture (somewhere between brownie and pudding) the brownies tasted wonderfully chocolatey and very much like brownie. I had seconds. (Colton helpfully pointed out that I have two months backlog of missed desserts to make up for…)

In all seriousness, I don’t want to go crazy on food I’m not supposed to eat (though I’m pretty sure that seconds on GAPS legal brownies is completely in the realm of reason at this point in the diet anyway), but I do really feel like I’ve done my time on GAPS and I need to be done soon. Compared to the official timeline two months on GAPS isn’t really that much, but out in the normal world, two months of soup for breakfast, sauerkraut with most of your meals, and no chocolate, is pretty extreme.

I’m glad I did GAPS, and I think it helped, but I’m also hoping to find another piece of the healing puzzle that takes me from finishing GAPS to having even more energy.

Leave a Reply

