GAPS Diet, Day 72

Morning juice was carrot mango. Breakfast was leftover zucchini casserole with sauerkraut, olive oil and extra cheddar. Lunch was more zucchini casserole, eaten similarly to breakfast.

It was a bit of tired day again, though I deliberately put off most of my chores that could be put off and filled my to-do list with ‘desk work’. So I got a lot done that needed to be done soon, like filling out paperwork to send in my medical bills so far to Samaritan and writing my grandfather and his wife and updating one of my Squidoo lenses, without having to expend too much energy. I did still wash some dishes, enough to counterbalance dishes dirtied, though not quite enough to clear the counter.

I forgot to mention at the end of my last post that I increased my probiotic dose to 4 1/4 capsules on Monday.

I had hoped to introduce fermented beans soon, but alas, my beans fermented in a rather unpleasant and it is to be assumed inedible way. So, I threw them away, and I’ll have to wait until Thursday to buy more beans and fresh yogurt and start over, which will take another four days. In the mean time, I have nothing left to introduce really, as beans are my last step to being on full GAPS.

This leads me to consider skipping over the beans and starting the process of coming off GAPS despite being pre-bean. It is a bit frustrating to be put back a week for no good digestive reason. On the other hand, I’m not sure how much time it really saves as the millet I have also takes 4-5 days to ferment, so I’d just be introducing potatoes this week and then waiting until next week to introduce the next thing anyway.

For some reason, the idea of actually coming off of GAPS is a bit shocking. Even if the GAPS police don’t come after me, it just seems rather… drastic. Yeah, soup and sauerkraut and no grains is normal, and coming off of GAPS is drastic. Maybe I really do need to come off this diet soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

* * * *

ย The above was written yesterday afternoon. I figured I’d finish the post after supper and post it, but we got back late so I didn’t finish the post last night.

For supper we went over to dinner with Colton’s family. Since they’d been out of town for while, it was really nice to see them again. Plus, not having to fix supper. ๐Ÿ™‚

I ate chicken and carrots cooked in butter and squash cooked in butter with onion and red pepper and… Well, there were potatoes. This rather forced my decision about coming off of GAPS or not. So I ate them.

I restrained myself to a proper introduction amount of potato, just a couple of spoonfuls. They were amazingly wonderful. None of the usual hesitancy or weirdness I’ve usually had introducing new food. I liked them and I wanted more.

I didn’t have any kind of pain type reaction, though lateish last night my stomach started to feel really heavy and a bit weird. Fairly normal for introducing any new food, so hopefully that will away after a couple days with potato.

And this means… I’m coming off of GAPS now. I only made it 72 days. I met my goal, which was to finish intro, but I feel like a bit of wimp for stopping. ๐Ÿ™‚ On the other hand, I really want to eat starches again… It’s going to be interesting finding the right balance as I’m reintroducing food I haven’t eaten in a while.

Obviously, I can’t write GAPS posts anymore, but I want to continue documenting the journey as I slowly transition off the diet. Not sure yet what I should title those posts…

Leave a Reply

