GAPS Diet, Day 75

Yesterday I woke up from an afternoon nap with a stuffy nose, that “I’m getting sick” feeling and the tiniest twinges of a sinus headache. It all passed pretty quickly when I got up and started moving around so I managed to convince myself that I was not getting sick. Still having a tired week maybe, but not getting sick.

This morning I woke up with similar symptoms again and my husband convinced me that not only was I sick, but I should take a sick day and actually rest. Weird…

I have to say that as the day has gone on, I became more and more convinced that he was right and that I really would have made myself miserable if I’d tried to proceed with my original plans of washing dishes, making mango salsa and baking GAPS bread.

I did get up and make myself carrot mango juice to start the day. I also sipped a couple of cups of ginger tea from mid morning to early afternoon. I had my breakfast at nine-thirty because I was starving–leftover chicken casserole and (you guessed it) green beans.

Lunch was more of the same, but with olive oil and sauerkraut. (Because sauerkraut will cure anything, right Merrianna?)

Supper was taco salad: ground beef with seasonings, lettuce, homemade GAPS tortilla chips, cheddar cheese and impromptu homemade salsa and guacomole, topped with olive oil and fermented banana peppers.

After supper I made GAPS hot cocoa again.

I have great plans for feeling all better tomorrow, but these plans rarely work out like I want them to…

Leave a Reply

