Echoes and Arias

I’ve discovered that I like mediocre 80s movies. I’m not quite willing to call them *bad* 80s movies, because the feel that genre evokes is a bit more so than most of the movies I actually like. And technically, most of them were actually made in the early 90s (such as Kindergarten Cop and Speed), but that doesn’t change the fact that in genre they are are 80s movies.

I’ve always liked these movies, but I’ve just recently discovered that they are all, in fact, mediocre 80s movies. I can see now the pervasive bad hair, the ugly sweaters, and the horror of the inexplicable pastel-potato-sack-with-tights look. I’m even willing to admit that some of the acting is a bit stiff.

But somehow, it doesn’t really matter. Even badly dressed and occasionally awkward people have a story. The echoes of The Story that reverberate through the cheap sets are enough to pull me in. Interestingly, neither Speed nor Kindergarten Cop starts with ‘boy meets girl’. They start with ‘boy fights bad guy’ and along the way move to ‘boy will move heaven and earth to save girl *and* defeat bad guy’. It’s not quite The Great Romance, but it sure does sound a little like it, doesn’t it?

And really, I hardly feel I can blame them for being faint echoes. Some days I have bad hair and flub my lines too.

But I firmly believe that God can take my little echo and turn it into a beautiful aria. Slowly, we may someday all move past the 80’s movie stage to make better echoes of The Story in our lives and our art. But in the meantime… I’ll listen for the echoes I can hear now, and imagine the symphony it all turns into in the end.

Leave a Reply

