GAPS Diet, Day 83

Last night after I posted my gaps report for the day I got hungry again. I think I’m craving starches again, and even specifically sugars to some extent. I ate half a mango, which made me feel a lot better, and then introduced my fermented navy beans. I took a largish spoonful of cold beans, mixed in some yogurt, salt and garlic and called it bean salad.

This morning I skipped my juice and went with smoothie for breakfast as a juice substitute. My smoothie of choice this  morning: banana peach mango, with real cow’s milk, hold the sauerkraut.

As usual for a Saturday my meal schedule was a bit off. I ate a drumstick and a few leftover roasted carrots about lunchtime. A couple hours later I ate chicken thigh with some sauerkraut and a smallish normal sized serving of beans (reaheated in butter–yum).

This afternoon I started scrounging for some new idea to feed my sugar craving with GAPS legal foods I have available. I made some raisin syrup, which was a good start, but I still had to figure out what to do with it. Mixing it with coconut butter and extra cinnamon produced an apple butter colored substance that would have been marvelous spread on toast or pancakes, but I didn’t have either of those. Next I tried mixing the raisin syrup with milk, adding a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. Raisin milkshake! Disturbingly enough, it hit the spot. (I have to get off this diet… It’s doing strange things to me…)

After the raisin ‘milkshake’ I ate some cheddar cheese for protein to balance out the sweetness.

I had a late supper of ground beef with cheddar cheese and raw tomato slices.

Leave a Reply

