Sourdough Pancakes

I am very close to being off the gaps diet. I have reintroduced dairy (slowly, but eventually successfully) and starches and sugars (though I’m still being sparing with ‘unnatural’, that is, refined, sweeteners, at least until I’m entirely off gaps) and have gotten as far as fermented grains. This week I have (successfully, as far as I can tell) introduced sourdough bread. Having not eaten wheat for several months, ‘real’ bread is an amazing experience.

Possibly just because it’s the first wheat I’ve been able to eat in a while, I’m now intrigued with sourdough. This is slightly ironic because I’ve previously insisted that I’m nearly incapable of keeping a sourdough starter alive for any length of time. I’m now hoping to keep it going long enough to try sourdough pizza dough, muffins and various other culinary explorations.

This morning, I made sourdough pancakes. (You already figured that out from the title of post, didn’t you? Do you feel clever now?) I was more gleeful about whole wheat eggless sourdough pancakes than the general populace would understand.

For those interested in cooking details, I used this recipe: http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2008/06/sourdough-pancakes-2.html and replaced the eggs with flaxseed (mixed with water and refrigerated overnight to better simulate egg).

For those more interested in flavor details, I thought the pancakes were excellent and adapted well to being eggless. They were soft and, as Colton pointed out, the odd consistency of restaurant pancakes. You know, fluffy and soft when you cut them, but oddly resistant to tearing as you butter them.

I tried them with honey and almond butter, which was good, but they were especially amazing with maple syrup (which I also hadn’t had in several months).

An addendum about being eggless: I’m currently trying to reintroduce egg for the second time. The first time I woke up with bad cold symptoms and decided to stop and take a fresh start to see if it was a real cold or egg allergy symptoms. This time I’m going slowly, having basically just introduced egg yolk in mayonnaise and therefore relatively small amounts. So far it’s inconclusive and I’ll be continuing the test and slowly adding in other forms of eggs. I have hopes that even if scrambled eggs remain off limits, my system might be able to adjust to smaller amounts of eggs as ingredients in other foods.

Leave a Reply

