Orange Kiss Me Muffins

Here’s a recipe from Thursday’s baking session that’s distinctly *not* GAPS friendly. It’s a cross between this lemon muffin recipe and my (fairly vague) memories of orange kiss me cake. These muffins are Colton approved, even with whole wheat flour, but that may be because I used white sugar and they came out sweeter than I intended…

IMG_0603

 

(I can’t decide if putting pictures in my posts makes this like a real cooking blog, or proves that I’m not because my food had crumbs.) 🙂

 

Orange Kiss Me Muffins

2 cups flour (I used fresh ground soft white wheat)

3/4-1 cup sugar (1 cup was cake level sweeteness; cut back to 3/4 or less for normal muffin level sweetness)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1/2-3/4 tsp cinnamon

2 oranges

2 eggs

1 cup pineapple juice

1/2 cup butter, melted

1/2-1 cup walnuts

1/2-1 cup raisins

(I used roughly half a cup each of walnuts and raisins, and they were present but low key in the finished product)

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Grease muffin tin(s). Mix flour, sugar, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in medium sized bowl.

Quarter oranges and blend in blender or food processor until finely chopped. Mixture will look like the most pulpy orange juice ever. Since your blender/food processor is being used anyway, throw the rest of the ingredients in with the oranges and let it mix them for you.

Add the orange mixture to the dry ingredients and stir just until combined.

This mixture makes 12-18 muffins. I made 12, so they were large, but they came out very flat and spread across the top of the muffin pan. To deal with this I pushed the tops back with a knife while they were still hot and soft so they’d come out of the pan in one piece when cool, but next time I’d probably just fill the muffin tins to 2/3 full and make more muffins.

Bake at 400 for 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

As usual, I put the muffins in a gallon freezer bag after they cooled and froze them to reheat individually as needed for breakfasts. We tried them this morning and they reheated very nicely, and we decided the recipe needed to be documented before I forgot it. 🙂

Next time I might try sweetening with half a cup of honey and cutting the pineapple juice back to 3/4 of a cup.

Leave a Reply

