Watermelon Relish

The other day I made some watermelon juice. Watermelon juices pretty thoroughly, but I did have some pulp left from running the rind through the juicer along with the flesh. (I peeled off the green part pre-juicing, but left on the white part.)

Sometimes juice pulp baffles me, as you can end up with odd mixtures, and even I rarely think, “Hey, I’ve been wanting a blend of mango, carrot and celery for this recipe I wanted to try!” But juicing a single kind of produce for once? No brainer.

I based this recipe on Paula Dean’s pickled watermelon rind, and it turned out to be some pretty good sweet relish. (If you don’t happen to have juiced any watermelon recently, you could save and peel the rind after you eat your watermelon and run it through a food processor to achieve the needed watermelon rind pulp.)

 

Watermelon Relish

1 ¾ cups watermelon rind pulp

1 tsp salt

Pinch ground mustard

Dash black pepper

¼ cup apple cider vinegar

¾ cup sugar

¾ cup water

Simmer until all ingredients are blended and watermelon pulp has softened to your preferred relish consistency.

Alternatively, you should be able to ferment this, as both apple cider vinegar and salt are used as fermentation kickstarters, but I can’t vouch for the definitive success of this option.

Leave a Reply

