Pork Dumplings

Last night I made pork dumplings that Colton said were better than most of the pork dumplings he’s had in his life. I figured that meant I should write down the recipe before I forgot what I did. 🙂

I made my own dumpling wrappers based on this recipe, and made filling based on this recipe. The dipping sauce was more of a general impression of several dipping sauces. 

Dumpling wrappers

2 cup white flour

1 cup boiling water

Put flour in food processor. While the food processor is running, pour in boiling water in a thin stream. Let it mix until the dough forms a cohesive lump, then for another minute or so. Take it out and knead it until it’s smooth and springy, then let it rest while mixing up the filling.

 

Dumpling filling

1 pound ground pork, raw

1 TBSP minced garlic

1 egg

2 TBSP  fresh parsley

2 TBSP ‘soy sauce

1 1/2 TBSP peanut oil

1 TBSP minced fresh ginger

Mix.

 

 Divide the dough into 4 pieces and roll each out as thin as possible. I would have divided it into 2 pieces to do this, but my counters aren’t that big… Also, the dough didn’t get quite as thin as I thought it should, but it was still bordering on ‘translucent’ about a 1/16”, and the effect was quite good even though it was a little thicker than the wrapper on restaurant dumplings. I cut them into roughly 3 inch squares (some oddly shaped edges) and got almost 40 dumplings out of the dough instead of the predicted 50.

 I put a tsp to a tsp and a half of meat mixture in the middle of each square, folded the dough into a triangle, sealed the edges, and then pinched the two triangle points together at the top of the dumpling. I didn’t find applying water to make any difference in whether the dumpling edges sealed or not. 

 I boiled a big pot of salted water and boiled the dumplings in two batches. I didn’t time how long they took to cook, but I cooked them for a minutes or two after they started floating, for good measure. 

 I served them with a dipping sauce made mostly of ‘soy sauce’ with a sprinkle of garlic powder and ginger powder and a TBSP or so of peanut oil.

 Originally I was going to use this as base recipe to experiment with whole wheat dumpling wrappers, but this turned out so well that Colton said he would be very disappointed if I changed it, so I guess this will remain an unhealthy splurge meal. 🙂

 

One thought on “Pork Dumplings

  1. LFFL says:

    I’m about to make my own dumplings, but from a frozen box. I know they won’t taste as good as homemade.

Leave a Reply

