Daily Thanks #4: Stories

I like a good romance. Let’s face it, I even like a dumb cheesy romance. As long as the guy gets the girl I don’t care if they’re epic heroes or cartoon umbrellas, I’m sold. (Seriously, I shed tears over the cartoon umbrella romance. It’s a little embarrassing.)

I like buddy stories, where a couple of guys survive an impossible number of explosions together while killing a ridiculous number of bad guys, and I like stories with so many twists and turns that I can’t figure out where the story will end up.

I like historical stories, futuristic stories, post apocalyptic stories and time travel stories. Alternate dimensions can be fun too.

For the first few months of marriage I couldn’t really get into any fiction. Living my own personal fairy tale somehow overrode any other stories for a while. But stories are so built into me that it didn’t take so very long before I decided that even fairy tales endings are better with extra stories piled into them. 🙂

Today I’m thankful for the stories that make life seem simpler, the ones that leave me chewing on questions, the ones that look at the world sideways and give me a glimpse of what might be, the ones with brave heroes and epic battles, the ones with tiny victories  and (I guess) even the dumb ones that make me cry.

 

Leave a Reply

