Daily Thanks #18: Clean Laundry

I’m pretty sure that for my Monday daily thankfulness post (yes, I’m a little behind…) I’m supposed to write about how thankful I am to still have a house to sleep in. Or about how great it is that people in the community are stepping up to help tornado victims. Or maybe even something sweet about people getting reunited with their pets.

All those things are true, of course… But the thing is, I didn’t get scared enough during the tornado to have an epic sense of relief afterwards. My post tornado sense on Monday was along these practical lines, “Well, we can’t get out to help with disaster relief today, so I guess I’d better try to catch up on my housework as much as I can so we’re freed up to help later when they’re letting people into the areas that need help.”

The most exciting thing that happened on Monday was that for the first time in about three weeks, I got all the clean laundry folded and put away the same day it was washed.

And I guess when you come down to it, clean laundry is just exactly as mundane and as epic as it needed to be that day.

Leave a Reply

