A Plexus Experiment, Part 2

I wrote my first post about this Plexus experiment after a little less than a week on the Plexus Slim. It’s now been a little more than a week since that post, so I wanted to make a few notes in order to keep tracking the experiment properly.

The difficulty with trying to track the experiment properly, however, is that I can’t keep all the other variables in my life consistent: I have hormone medications that I only take at certain times of the month. Last month the combination of medications that I’m on made me completely miserable and barely functional for over a week while I was on them, but also got my hormone levels to where they needed to be for the first time in a while, so I decided I could live with a little misery for now if they were at least being effective.

On this month’s round of medications I’m feeling tired and draggy and slightly miserable, but much more functional than last month. I’m tentatively chalking that up as another win for the Plexus, but I’ll have to at least wait and see if my hormones are good again this month before I give Plexus credit for making me feel (slightly) better.

I lost back the three pounds that I gained in my first few days on Plexus, but my wait is continuing to fluctuate somewhat. (I can’t imagine that has anything to do with those hormone medications, can you?)

One interesting thing I noticed after taking the Plexus Slim for the little while is that I stopped wanting sugar in my morning coffee. (I often have decaf coffee or brewed cocoa in the mornings–with my normal fatigue, caffeine actually backfires more often than not.) Now, I use natural-ish sweeteners like turbinado sugar, and I don’t have a lot of sugar cravings, so when sugar sounds good to me I usually figure there’s a reason and go with it. I think that reason is normally that my body is looking for quick and easy energy because my metabolism needs a quick boost. The couple of weeks before I started the Plexus, sugar in my coffee had been sounding pretty good in the mornings. So, while it could be the blood sugar balancing effect that was causing sugar to stop sounding good, I suspect it had more to do with the metabolism boost so that I didn’t need the quick energy so much anymore.

I did add in the BioCleanse to my routine, after I’d been on the Slim long enough to get some idea of how well that was working for me. Some people say the BioCleanse gives them an energy boost and some people say it makes them sleepy, so I started off taking it in the early afternoon. I figured I’d either get more done, or take a nap, and either way would be good. 🙂 BioCleanse was the product I was perhaps most skeptical about, just because the ingredients are so simple, and mostly things I’d already been including in my vitamin routine. To my surprise, it does seem to give me a gentle energy boost right about the point in the afternoon where I’d normally be slowing down. It could just be placebo effect, of course, but sometimes even a placebo effect is helpful.

I started to also add in the ProBio5 (a probiotic), but stopped because I didn’t want to risk adding detox symptoms to my medication side effects.

So, I guess the summary is that the Plexus still seems to be helping, but due to unusual circumstances it’s still hard to tell exactly how much it’s helping. The real test to me will be how quickly my energy comes back after I’m off this round of medications, and how long it sticks around after that. I have had good energy weeks before, but to have more than one strung together in a row would be very unusual.

Read Part 3 of my plexus experiment here.

If you’re interested in ordering Plexus, click here. Contact me for more information on pricing structure and ordering options.

*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food & Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. 

Leave a Reply

