Moving Out

Today we move out of our ‘almost first apartment’. For the first six months of our marriage we lived in an apartment across town. In retrospect, we were hardly there long enough for it to count as our first apartment–it was almost more of an extended honeymoon. At the time however, it was very  much our first home.

I was sick with a very bad cough and cold for the first month after moving into our current apartment, and perhaps the fact that this delayed unpacking contributed to it not feeling like home at first. Whatever the reason, I remember running errands near our first apartment a couple of months after moving, and starting to cry because I just wanted to turn down that lane and go to what still felt like home.

Our current apartment had some perks, however, and once we finally settled in, I really loved living next door to where Colton worked. He came home for lunch nearly every day, which was by far my favorite thing about the arrangement. Him walking to work, and me getting access to our one car most of the time wasn’t a bad bonus to the situation either.

After about three years of living here, I started to get very tired of apartment life. The tiny kitchen was frustrating, and I so loved the idea of having a washer and dryer IN MY HOUSE instead of having to carry my laundry down the steps and sidewalk every week, no matter the weather.

The perks I mentioned above broke through my grumpiness though, and I started to appreciate the reasons we chose this apartment in the first place even more.

And now we’re moving.

We found a house with a very decently sized kitchen, and a washer and dryer right in the kitchen (not even basement steps to deal with!), in addition to having a nice deck on the back and a little more space in the living and dining areas for having people over. I’m finally getting to test out my dream of having black kitchen cupboards that are red on the inside (just the inside of the door, but still, red). We’re putting up better quality curtain rods than the cheap, flimsy ones that seemed like such a good idea on a newlywed budget.

And yet…

I cried when I packed our wedding monkeys. I took down most of our wall art several days ago, but I couldn’t bring myself to take down the dragon pictures until today. Most of our first six years of marriage happened here. We went from thrift store furniture (okay, consignment stores) to actually having color schemes for most of our rooms. I ran a food blog and youtube channel from that tiny kitchen for about a year. We had over more people at a time than could reasonably fit in our apartment.

And it’s time to move on.

I suspect that I’m really going to love living in our new house, and that the adjustment will happen quickly. Once I’ve left this apartment for the last time, it only be empty walls, and it won’t be so hard to say goodbye. It’s the in between of being here, but not really here, with everything that made it ours already packed up in boxes that seems hard.

I’m looking forward to unpacking tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

