Of Dreams and Plans

Every January I start to get the urge to evaluate my life and figure out what I want to be doing that I’m not doing, or at least haven’t finished achieving yet. Colton seems to mange to continuously update his plans and priorities and can’t figure out why January would have this effect on me. So this year I took a little different strategy and made a list of dreams and planned to pick one to work on every 4-6 weeks through the year.

Unsurprisingly, I’ve gotten distracted with a lot of daily life and don’t seem to make a lot of progress. According to my list the last time I picked a dream to work on was in April, and I know I didn’t actually do anything with it.

Oddly enough, a part of my dream to travel to Europe, which wasn’t even on the docket for this year, is coming true this fall. Colton has a work trip to Ireland and I get to tag along. I’m still holding out for a full tour of England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales someday, but for now, a few days in Dublin will do just fine.

Aside from travel though, I’m discovering the the core of my dreams is really to do some combination of creative writing and nutritional coaching. (Well, that and being able to sing on key.) I really enjoyed the writing I did for my food blog, and to some extent the videos I made for it, though those were also stress inducing. (Yes, random guy on the internet, it is possible to care about healthy eating and still have fat arms. FYI.) But what I really, really loved was the few comments I got about how people started using my homemade ketchup all the time, or how small children devoured green beans made from my recipe. I loved giving people one small, doable step toward living healthier.

And, honestly, that’s why I started sharing about Plexus. Because I really want to help people get healthier, and because it give me chance to talk to people about their health and nutrition one on one, and figure out personalized suggestions for what might help them.

If I do very well with Plexus maybe someday it can even fund that full Europe trip I’d love to make, but what would make me very happy is if sharing Plexus resulted in lots of stories of other people finally having energy to go do all the things they’ve always wanted to do.

Unfortunately, I don’t think Plexus will ever solve my singing off-key problems.

Leave a Reply

